According to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), teenage drivers are almost three times more likely to be involved in a fatal car accident. Often, teen motorists are susceptible to impulsive or distracted driving which could cause an accident. A car accident can cause severe damages, injuries and even death.
If you or a loved one were injured in a car crash involving a young motorist, an Ocean Springs teen driver accident lawyer could help you hold the responsible party accountable for their actions. They could handle the often difficult legal facets of your case while you recover from your injuries. With the help of diligent car accident attorney, you may be eligible to recover compensation for your damages.
Parents or legal guardians often sign the application for their teenager’s driving permit. In doing so, they may also be accepting responsibility for any collisions that are caused by the teenage motorist.
When a minor, under 17 years old, is involved in a collision because of either negligence or willful disobedience of the vehicle code, the fault may be imputed to their parents. Mississippi Code Ann. §63-1-25 states that parents who sign a minor’s driving permit application are agreeing to become jointly and severally liable for damages caused by the teen. A seasoned Ocean Springs teen driver collision lawyer could help determine liability in a car crash.
Young drivers who exceed the speed limit and end up causing an accident may be found to be responsible for the collision. In Ocean Springs, the maximum speed limit on highways is 65 miles per hour. A discretionary increase to 70 miles per hour may sometimes be issued on four-lane highways under the authority of §63-3-501.
Drivers may be issued a citation and fined if they are found speeding. A well-practiced teenage motorist accident attorney in Ocean Springs who is familiar with traffic laws and rules may be able to help an injured claimant understand how speeding could be considered negligent.
Miss. Code Ann. §63-33-1 bars teenagers and other motorists from writing, reading, or sending text messages on a handheld phone. Moreover, individuals are permitted from posting on social media while operating a motor vehicle. Texting or posting while driving may help to establish the negligence of a minor who is in a collision. Failing to obey this regulation may also result in fines.
Mississippi Code §63-3-1213 sanctions careless driving, which is considered to be a lesser offense to reckless driving. A teen driver who is busy texting or socializing with friends while operating a car may be deemed a careless motorist.
In an accident claim against a teen driver, a plaintiff’s experienced attorney might be able to use evidence of careless driving in a lawsuit against the teenager or their parents.
An Ocean Springs teen driver accident lawyer may be able to help if you were in a collision with a minor. They could help you determine liability, gather evidence such as cell phone records, and prove your case in court. Call today to get started on your claim