Drunk driving accidents happen at a rate of one every two minutes in the United States, according to the National Highway Safety and Transportation Administration. A drunk driver could cause an individual to sustain significant injuries such as head trauma, broken bones, and organ damage. If you were harmed by an impaired driver, you may have a claim against the motorist.
If you have been harmed in a collision that was caused by an impaired motorist, you may be able to get legal help. An Ocean Springs drunk driver accident lawyer may be available to work with you. It is best to speak to a knowledgeable car accident attorney to learn about the type of damages you may be eligible to recover.
Under Mississippi Code Ann.§§13-1-123, a claimant may be awarded damages in a lawsuit against a driver who violated the vehicle code. The burden of proof falls on the plaintiff’s Ocean Springs drunk driver accident attorney. They will need to collect evidence proving that the intoxicated motorist caused the accident. The attorney could use witness testimony, field sobriety tests, and the accident report to prove the defendant’s negligence.
Under Miss. Code Ann. §63-11-30, it is illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any substance that may impair an individual’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely.
Blood alcohol concentration limits while driving in Ocean Springs are as follows:
Per §63-11-5, Ocean Springs motorists give their implied consent to be tested for substances any time they drive on public roads. A police officer must have probable cause to ask for a test.
Law enforcement may also administer a blood test on an unconscious motorist if the driver has reasonable cause. A skilled drunk driver accident lawyer in Ocean Springs may describe the uses for these tests to specific claimants.
Impaired driving can lead motorists to make many mistakes on the road. They may drive too fast or too slowly for conditions. Intoxicated motorists are also likely to drive carelessly.
Mississippi Code §63-3-1213 prohibits the careless operation of a motor vehicle. If a drunk driver causes a car accident, they may be cited for careless driving in addition to DUI sanctions.
The claimant’s diligent attorney may be able to use evidence of the citation in a lawsuit against that driver in a personal injury lawsuit.
The maximum speed limit on highways is 65 miles per hour. A discretionary increase to 70 miles per hour may sometimes be issued on four-lane highways.
Intoxicated motorists may speed without realizing it. This may exacerbate the damage in a crash.
Ocean Springs also has laws against driving too slowly. Under Mississippi Code §63-3-509, the minimum speed threshold is 30 miles per hour where no hazard exists. A drunk motorist may drive too slowly and cause a rear-end collision in the process.
Intoxicated motorists are a danger to everyone on the road. Alcohol can extremely impair an individual’s ability to drive a motor vehicle safely and carefully. When an individual’s negligent actions cause a car accident, they could be held accountable in court.
Schedule a consultation with an Ocean Springs drunk driver accident lawyer to learn about how you may be eligible to seek compensation. Call today to get started.