Manufacturers work hard to make automobiles safe, but with millions of drivers on America’s roads, accidents are inevitable. Those who have been injured in a crash may be left with hefty medical expenses, lost wages, mental anguish, as well as pain and suffering. Fortunately, injured individuals could hold help you hold the reckless driver accountable and seek compensation for all of your damages.
If you or a loved one were severely injured in an automobile crash, a Greene County car accident lawyer could help you seek the monetary damages you need from the driver and the insurance company. Speak to a knowledgeable personal injury attorney to discuss your rights and legal options for recovering compensation.
The first action Mississippi drivers should take is to purchase suitable automobile insurance to protect themselves and others from economic catastrophe should they be involved in car collisions. Drivers are required to carry $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person and a total of $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident. Drivers must also carry $25,000 in coverage for property damage. Most insurance industry groups recommend at least $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage for various reasons, such as the high cost of medical care, and the possibility of a personal injury lawsuit if insurance does not cover that care. A driver can substitute insurance with a bond held by a state-licensed office, or with cash or securities posted with the Mississippi Treasurer.
Violators of the insurance requirements will be fined $500 for each infraction and a one-year suspension of a driver’s license. Fines and suspensions can be lifted or reversed if a driver provides proof of insurance or financial responsibility. A Mississippi auto collision lawyer could advise a client about how much coverage is necessary for different situations.
Mississippi auto accident laws make at-fault drivers and their insurance companies responsible for compensating their victims. Thus, Mississippi is an at-fault state instead of a no-fault state, where drivers carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and look to their insurance carriers no matter who caused the auto accident.
In Mississippi, injured parties can be compensated in three ways. They can file claims with their own insurance companies, who will usually look to the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier through a subrogation claim, which allows the insurance carrier to step into the shoes of the victim and collect from the at-fault driver’s insurance company. An injured party can file a claim directly with the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier or file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver. Seeking compensation after an auto accident is complicated, but a Greene County car collision lawyer can help with insurance claims and personal injury lawsuits.
Personal injury lawsuits brought in connection with car accidents are based on the negligence of the at-fault driver. Mississippi drivers must act reasonably toward others in their paths to ensure everyone’s safety. If they act negligently and cause injuries to others, those injured parties must show that the injuries were caused legally and proximately by the negligent driver.
Mississippi is one of twelve states that have enacted pure comparative negligence statutes when it comes to allocating blame in a car accident. Even if the injured party is 99 percent at fault for the accident, they can still recover compensation for damages. The injured party’s compensation award will be reduced by their share of fault for the accident.
If you are injured in an auto accident, you should focus on healing. A seasoned car accident attorney could take the lead in your case and help you hold the reckless party accountable for your damages. You need an advocate who can handle dealing with insurance companies and could help you get the compensation you need. Contact a Greene County car accident lawyer today to schedule your consultation.