Understanding Mississippi’s car insurance laws can often be confusing for drivers. While each auto-accident can vary from case to case, there are some important facts to know about car insurance in Mississippi. While these facts can offer some general information about car insurance, it is best to discuss your case with a knowledgeable car accident attorney who may be able to guide you through your case.
Who is Responsible for Damages in Mississippi?
In Mississippi, responsibility for damages is determined using a fault-based system. In a fault-based system, the party that is found liable for the accident may bear financial responsibility for damages resulting from the accident. Damages under this system include medical bills, damages to vehicles, and lost wages resulting from the injury.
A party found at-fault may also be able to receive compensation for an accident. However, compensation for the at-fault party may be reduced depending on the amount of negligence the at-fault party is found to have. The amount of negligence is typically determined by an insurance adjustor. Because of this, an experienced car accident attorney may be able to guide a client through building a strong case to maximize the compensation received.
What Insurance Coverage Are Drivers Required to Have?
Mississippi law requires that drivers carry liability insurance. Liability insurance includes a minimum coverage of the following:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person in a single accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
Liability insurance covers damages that the at-fault party may be required to pay to the opposing party. Liability insurance does not cover damages to the policyholder’s own damages. Drivers may choose to have additional coverage beyond the minimum requirements in Mississippi. For example, some drivers may choose to have insurance coverage in the event that they are in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver. Other optional insurance policies include collision coverage, collision coverage, and comprehensive coverage.
What Happens When a Driver Does Not Have Insurance?
Mississippi law enforces large penalties on drivers who do not have insurance. An uninsured driver may have their license suspended and could face a fine up to $1,000. Driving without insurance may also show up on a criminal record.
If an uninsured driver is found at-fault in a car accident, the motorist may be responsible for all damages resulting from the crash. This includes the at-fault driver’s own damages in addition to the damages of others involves in the accident.
Understanding some general insurance guidelines for Mississippi can help alleviate confusion for drivers. It is important to remember that each auto accident case can change on a number of factors. For this reason, it is best to talk to an experienced car accident lawyer to discuss the things to know about car insurance in Mississippi. The knowledgeable legal team at Lott Law may be able to help you receive the maximum compensation you deserve.